Fall is here!

It’s official.  Sept. 23 marks the first day of Autumn.  Fall has arrived!

For those of us in Orange County, it doesn’t really feel very fall-y. And yes, I realize fall-y is not really a word.

It’s still hot and I’m still using my air conditioner at night. My sweaters look lonely in my closet and I can still be comfortable in a sundress or shorts.

BUT I still love fall and want to honor it with some of my very favorite things about the season, in no particular order.

Pumpkin cookies from Rutabegorz: These only come out in the fall and disappear shortly after Thanksgiving. These cookies are the best and are in high demand in Orange County. A pumpkin cake cookie with a thick, gooey maple frosting. I have yet to find any pumpkin cookie that can compare.  Pumpkin Spice Lattes: A given. SO perfect as the weather starts to cool down a bit and they can always brighten a gloomy morning. Like the cookies, these are a limited-time offer, which makes them that much more special.  Dark nail polish: Time to put away those fluorescents and neutrals and vamp it up a bit! I’m still loving the grayish tones that debuted last season. The trend is still going strong!  In fact, I’m wearing this one on my fingers right now. You Don’t Know Jacques by O.P.I. Apparently they make a matte version now, too. I prefer the glossy version.

Scarves: It’s just about that time to start busting out the scarves. I recently just reorganized my drawer that houses all my favorite neck wraps and I can’t wait to wear them! Boots: What’s not to love about wearing boots? There are so many different styles to choose from. I’m really feeling flat boots this season. I’ve already broken in my newest boots, the BA combats, but can’t wait to start wearing the rest of my collection and I’m kinda hoping to expand it a bit. Check these Charles David boots out. I’m pretty sure these need to be in my closet. Thinning classes: This is one of my most favorite things about fall even though it has nothing to do with the actual season. Right about this time, those workout classes you love to attend start to thin out. People start stuffing their faces more (me included) and working out less.  It’s so nice not to have to push people over for a spot or modify sun salutations to avoid hitting the person next to you. These thinning classes only last a few months, so enjoy them! Come Jan. 2, they’ll be back to smooshed city. Hot tea: Herbal infusions here I come! I have a hard time sticking to my herbal tea obsession during the summer months. I’ll have an occasional cup here and there but come fall,  I’m downing several cups a day. It’s SO good! Football: I feel somewhat fraudulent putting this as a fall favorite. I am definitely not one of those girls who DVRs football games or even seeks them out. I’m more of a “if it’s on and my husband wants to watch it” kind of fan. But it wasn’t always this way. When I was a kid, I’d say almost up through college, I LOVED football. As a cheerleader, I looked forward to it every year and it was my favorite sport of all time. My favorite team was the Dallas Cowboys. I knew the players. My allegiance is still with the Cowboys but I’m not quite as well-versed on the who’s who of the team. Because it was something I loved so much as a kid, I felt it necessary that I include it here. I’m still a fan today, just not a die hard. And my TOP …. No. 1 …. MOST FAVORITE… thing about Fall….

Children in Halloween costumes. More specifically, my lil’ pumpkin nieces in Halloween costumes. It does not get cuter than this!

So… what are some of your FALL FAVORITES?

6 thoughts on “Fall is here!

  1. I think you hit on most of my favs including Pumpkin Cookies and Pumpkin Spice Latte’s! A few more for my list would include:
    -Warm windy nights and falling, colored leaves
    -Longhorn football (I can blame my hubby for this one.. i’m a total fan)
    -Adding lowlights in your hair
    -Fall TV lineup with NEW shows!
    -The fact that it means CHRISTMAS, my all time FAV is around the corner!!
    ❤ ❤

  2. OOOH! Those are all good ones!

    Here are some of mine:

    *Eating chili in bread bowls on the first few colder nights
    *The smell of vanilla, pine, or “holiday” candles burning in the house
    *Disneyland at Christmas time! I know that sounds like winter, but they decorate so early now.
    *Listening to Dave Matthews the first time it decides to rain (pre-winter)
    *Best time of year for friend activities (pumpkin carving, football games, and fun holidays)

  3. Pingback: Fall leaves, fall colors, fall weather… « rubysongbird

Leave a Reply

