Pumpkin face

So tonight I was hanging with my lil’ pumpkin nieces (that’s how I refer to them because well, it’s Halloween so it’s fitting and they are SO darn cute!) and remembered I have yet to share the recipe I found for super yummy pumpkin bread!

I know you think I may be really heavy on the pumpkin lately. You would be right.

I can’t help it. I’m currently obsessed.

Partly because it’s the season and partly because I overstocked on Trader Joe’s pureed pumpkin and I wanted to use it up.

This recipe I found on All Recipes is more than 40 years old, according to the submitter. Which means it’s not the most healthy pumpkin bread out there but in small amounts, it’s OK.

There is an alternative recipe I’m going to try next – you replace the oil with applesauce. Clever and sounds good!  It drops the cals way down without sacrificing taste, apparently.

This recipe was just for plain ol’ pumpkin bread so I decided to liven it up a bit. In one loaf I added some Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips and in the other i threw in some dried cranberries and walnuts. Delish!

This bread was moist and tasty. It goes great with a cold glass of milk or some rich coffee.

Enjoy!

Pumpkin Bread

3 cups sugar

1 cup vegetable oil

4 eggs, lightly beaten

1 can solid pack pumpkin

3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon cloves

1/2 teaspoon allspice

Combine sugar, oil, and eggs in a large boil. Add the pumpkin and mix well. Combine dry ingredients; add to the pumpkin mixture alternately with water. Pour into two greased 9-in x 5-in x 3-in loaf pan. Bake at 350 for 60-65 minutes or until bread tests done. Cool in pans 10 minutes before removing to a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

