Best Christmas music

As I get old(er) my tastes change.

I was always told this would happen.

But I assumed this would only apply to things such as vegetables, clothing styles and shoes.

Trading butter-soaked veggies for steamed ones, swapping out my midriff-bearing tops for loose tunics (yes, I actually wore shirts that exposed my belly. Not OK.) and finding myself looking for comfortable flats to wear versus finding the  sexiest shoes I could find and not caring whether or not I’d be able to walk the next day. For the record, I hope I always find Tevas unappealing no matter how old I get.

I didn’t, however, realize this maturing taste also applied Christmas music.

At a young age, Amy Grant was the “it” for me in the Christmas music genre.  I used to choreograph very dramatic routines in my room to her toe-tapping version of “O Come, O Come Emmanuel” simply entitled, “Emmanuel”. If you are my age and a woman,  you know you LOVED that song.  It was very 80s and pure awesomeness.

I just figured I’d always enjoy and hate the same Christmas songs year after year. It wasn’t until I was bouncing in my seat and dancing to a Christmas song I used to vehemently DESPISE that I realized I needed to update my list of favorite songs for the season.

I’m not going to lie, Amy Grant is still on my list. There are some songs that simply qualify as classic for me and her over-synthesized version of that Christian hymn will forever remain untouched on my list. It’s the “We Built this City” of Christmas music – you have to be born in the 80s to appreciate it.

Anyway, that said, here is my new more mature, albeit potentially more cheesy, updated list of favorite holiday songs in no particular order.

What are some of your favorite songs? Share in the comments section!

1. “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas”

How cute is this? Who wouldn't want one for Christmas?

2. “Linus and Lucy”

3. Bare Naked Ladies’ version of  “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen”.

4. The Babs version of “Jingle Bells” (Despite how you feel about Streisand musically, politically, or otherwise, her Jingle Bells blows the others out of the water. Even my husband agrees.)

5. Paul McCartney’s “Wonderful Christmas Time” (This is the one that I always hated up until this year.)

6.  “O Holy Night” (Pretty much anyone’s  version as long as they can sing and don’t puss out on that big note. Honestly, the chick from Glee’s version is pretty insane.)

7.  “Winter Song” by Sara Bareilles and Ingrid Michaelson (Not totally Christmas, per se, but still works)

8. Amy Grant’s “Emmanuel” (She built that hymn on Rock and Roll)

9. Bing Crosby’s “White Christmas” (For the record, my husband can imitate Bing Crosby to a T! It’s completely entertaining and really funny but most of you will never get to hear it because he “doesn’t do it on demand”.)

10. James Taylor’s  “Some Children See Him”.

7 thoughts on “Best Christmas music

  1. OMG I totally rock to Amy Grant’s “Emmanuel.” And I thought I was the only one! AND the Barbara Streisand version of Jingle Bells.

    And LeAnn Rimes “Put a Little Holiday In Your Heart”. This one you can actually work out to, it’s fast and happy. Same goes for the Mariah Carey overplayed “All I Want For Christmas.”

    Last year I discovered “It Really Is (A Wonderful Life)” by Mindy Smith and Rosie Thomas’ “Why Can’t it be Christmastime All Year”

    I’ve got to add the Dolly Parton and Kenny Rogers Christmas album to this list, too.

    Gotta love holiday music!

  2. “Mary Did You Know?” and “Why Me” ((Joseph is asking God why would He choose a simple man to be the foster father of Jesus)

  3. Oh my gosh…. first, the hippo. Ummmmm….. he is SOOOO CUTE!!!! I want one, too!!!!

    Every year I wonder what my all-time fave Xmas songs are. Arrangements are so mood based for me. The BNL album is one of my all time favorite compilations, and has been for years. Back in the day I loved Mariah Carey’s album, and (don’t make fun), the NKOTB Christmas album (“Funky, Funky Christmas”, anyone???) Nat King Cole reminds me of my dad. Barbra Streisand’s “Jingle Bells” is a classic. John Denver and the Muppets is high on my list!!! (actually anything John Denver/Christmas related is dear to my heart) So many. “Christmas Wrapping” by the Waitresses. (one of these days, I’ll learn the lyrics!)

    Okay…. I’m making the official declaration….

    Favorite Christmas songs regardless of arrangement for me….

    “Carol of the Bells”, “Silent Night”, “Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy”

    One more thing, I bought two new compilations this year, and the the two of them in a playlist being shuffled around are my 24/7 holiday background around here these days. They are both loungey/downtempo electronica, and most are just instrumental. Like groovy elevator music. Matt and I have already declared them classics. I’m happy to pass them along if you’d like!

    They are called “The Mistletoe Lounge” and “The Reindeer Room: Volume 2”.

    Happy Christmas Music Season!!!!

    Xxxo 🙂

Leave a Reply

