Healthy cookies… sort of

The words healthy and cookies stuck next to each other make me think one of two things:

1. Oxymoron.

2. Tastes like Cardboard.

I would be wrong on both accounts with this recipe I found  called “Bev’s Chocolate Chip Cookies”.  I want to be best friends with Bev after tasting this recipe because I wonder what other kinds of food magic she is capable of.

Bev's cookies make the dessert a little more healthful

I was coming down off such a sugar coma after all that baking I did for Christmas. My husband and I were left with so many treats and somebody had to eat them and I gladly took on the task.

At one point, I thought I physically could not stuff any more chocolate down my throat which for me, is a HUGE deal.

I swore I wouldn’t bake anything sweet for the next six months but then I found this recipe and it piqued my interest.

It adds a little dose of healthy into your indulgence.  That’s not to say you can sit back and eat 27 cookies and think you’re being healthy. You would be wrong. There is still sugar and fat but there’s just considerably less.  Instead of using white flour, you use whole wheat flour and ground rolled oats. Next time, I’m going to add ground flaxseed for added nutritional value.

These cookies were pretty good for being healthier versions of their decadent counterparts. They’re only 99 calories a piece! (A standard-sized chocolate chip cookies can pack 250 cals!)

Give them a try!

Bev’s cookies from Eating Well

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Coat 2 baking sheets with cooking spray.
  2. Grind oats in a blender or food processor. Transfer to a medium bowl and stir in flour, baking soda and salt. Beat butter in a large bowl with an electric mixer until fluffy. Add oil, granulated sugar, brown sugar, egg and vanilla; beat until smooth and creamy. With the mixer running, add the dry ingredients, beating on low speed until just combined. Stir in chocolate chips.
  3. Drop the dough by heaping teaspoonfuls, at least 1 inch apart, onto the prepared baking sheets. Bake cookies, 1 sheet at a time, until firm around the edges and golden on top, about 15 minutes. Cool the cookies for 2 minutes on the baking sheets, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.
2 thoughts on “Healthy cookies… sort of

  1. Seems like the ground oats can reduce some of the flour, and the canola helps reduce the amount of butter. It’s genius! Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

