Non-toxic clean

Cleaning the bathroom freaks me out.

But not for the reasons you may think.

Every time I clean the bathroom I feel like I am in a toxic, chemical-filled steam room. The cleaners make it hard to breathe in my tiny bathroom. My eyes start to sting and even my skin starts to itch.

Every time I clean I inevitably think to myself, “This cannot be good for me.”

But then I found a toxic-free home remedy on Pinterest.

It’s actually the first recipe/remedy I’ve attempted off Pinterest.

I am constantly pinning this that and the other thinking “Oh, I must try this”. But I rarely actually make it to the execution part of this web-based hobby.

But this morning, I decided to actually put one of these great ideas to the test. This Pinterest concoction was developed by Martha Stewart. Shocker.

It TOTALLY works and it smells yummy.

I actually prefer the results to store-bought cleaners. No joke.

Here’s what you do:

Take 1 cup baking soda and add two teaspoons dish soap and several drops of peppermint essential oil. (You can also use eucalyptus, tea tree or rosemary). The oil has antibacterial properties without all the harshness.

Add water until it becomes a paste.

Take a sponge or scrub brush and scrub it in to the tub. As you rinse, it starts to create a lather and you can literally see the soap scum vanishing. It’s nutso!

I was totally impressed.

Happy cleaning!

2 thoughts on “Non-toxic clean

  1. This is a great tip!! Totally know what you are talking about with the toxicity factor. And yay, Doterra!!! I hope you’ve used your set on or in your body, too!! Xxxo 🙂

Leave a Reply

