Weird tips you should know

I don’t know about you, but I’m kind of a freak when it comes to DIY-anything or quirky tips.

I like quirky tips for cleaning, clothing care or cooking. I like pretty much any advice that strikes me as clever. This is probably why I am disgustingly obsessed with Pinterest.

Below, I’ve compiled a short list of this advice.  Most of these I have tried but there are a couple I haven’t. Some of you may have heard of these or maybe they’re new to you.  I definitely think they’re worth trying.

1. De-germ your kitchen sponge. Kitchen sponges sort of gross me out. And it really grosses me out if you also use your kitchen sponge to clean anything other than the dishes. (someone I may be married to likes to do this). So to keep your sponge from being a haven for gross bacteria and other strange things, pop it in the microwave for 30 seconds. Do it every other day.

2.  Remove rust. To get rid of any rusty rings in your bathrooms or kitchen, squeeze one lemon into bowl and add baking soda until it makes a paste. Let it sit on the stains for a bit, then scrub away.

3. De-tan. For those of you who like to spray tan, I bet there has been more than one occasion when you’re left with strange Oompa-Loompa lines. Mix sugar with lemon juice and scrub the hell out of your skin. It works pretty well. It’s not a magic potion, but it definitely helps smooth out any unevenness.

4. If you use candles and drip wax on your carpet or table cloth, don’t attempt to just pick at it with your fingers. Instead, take wax paper and place it over the candle wax. Using an iron on low-to-medium heat press the iron onto the paper. The wax should lift right out.

5.  If you have stinky shoes, stuff a dryer sheet in each shoe. This will perk those nasty tennies right up.

6. When I was little, I would spend so much time in pools my blonde hair would turn green. My mom would coat my hair with ketchup and let it sit. To be honest, I can’t remember if it worked but I remember we did it a ton.

7. Oat bath. If you have dry or itchy skin, adding oatmeal to your bathtub can be very soothing.

8. Another great natural addition to a bath is Epsom salt. Soak in an Epsom salt bath and when you get out, dress warmly from head-to-toe for 30 minutes (we’re talking sweats, heavy socks and a sweatshirt with a hood). The salt encourages your body to rid itself of toxins in a natural way. After the 30 minutes, moisturize.

9. Swish hydrogen peroxide in your mouth before you brush for a brighter, whiter smile. A 3% solution is safe for your teeth and it’s cheap, too.

10. Apparently white vinegar can get deodorant stains out of  shirts. This is one I haven’t tried but am definitely going to. Especially on my husband’s white T-shirts. You just spray the vinegar on the stains and throw it in the washer. Easy peasy.

One thought on “Weird tips you should know

  1. Clever girl! I will print this out and use a couple of these tips for sure – I am having trouble with one of my “natural” cleaners for the bathroom – it’s no doing it’s job – I will try the paste thing – thanks!

Leave a Reply

