Peanut butter bars

Ah, peanut butter and chocolate.

One of America’s most delectable combos. For me, it’s right up there with the mint and chocolate 0r salty and sweet.

Well here we have a recipe for you that is no-bake and oh-so good! It came from my husband’s aunt Pam.

I had committed to bringing dessert to a family party but had no time to bake anything and I certainly didn’t want to go store-bought. Then, I came across this recipe.

I think it took me 20 minutes total and I didn’t need to use the oven.

After tasting this recipe, I’m curious if I might be able to make it a little on the healthy side. Perhaps cutting some of the butter and using honey as a binding agent? Skipping the sugar altogether and relying on the honey for a touch of sweet?  I’ll need to think about it.

But for now, here’s the decadent version.

Pam’s Peanut Butter Bars

  • Two sticks of butter
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 2 cups graham crusts
  • 2  1/2 cups powdered sugar

Combine the above ingredients and press them into a 9×13 pan. Take a large bag of chocolate chips  and melt it. (I used one small bag of Ghiradelli semi-sweet and one bag of 60 percent cacao). I prefer to melt chocolate over the stove using a double broiler but if you want to use the microwave do it 30-second increments. You don’t want to burn the chocolate – nast.

Pour the chocolate over the crust and pop it in the fridge to harden.

That’s it. Done and done!

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Peanut butter bars

  1. I’m honored to be in your blog but I must say my philosophy is “Go big or go home” Eat it and enjoy, boo on healthy alternative. Love ya.

Leave a Reply

