Mom’s sweet potatoes

So I debated whether or not I should share this recipe before actually making it but given that I’m making it for the first time this Thanksgiving I figured sharing afterward made little sense.

Even though I’ve never tried to make it I’m pretty sure it will turn out just fine since it’s easy. And for Thanksgiving when in doubt, keep adding butter!

Prepare yourself for hands-down the best sweet potato casserole you’ll ever stuff your face with.

My mother has spoiled me with this amazing recipe since I was a child and ruined all other sweet potato dishes for me. Trust me, I have had many.  Nothing EVER tastes as good.

The only place that came close was a restaurant up in they Bay Area where we celebrated Thanksgiving several years ago. A sweet potato puree that found its way on my plate came close but it still wasn’t mom’s recipe.

The secret is this: orange juice and a KitchenAid.

This recipe is whipped, creamy and not overly sweet.

Also, for days when you’re not trying to eat your body weight in butter and carbs, you can lessen the amount of butter for a healthier version and it STILL tastes good.

One Thanksgiving my mom made me a lighter version of this sweet potato dish because I had the bright idea of doing a month-long clean eating diet in November. What kind of idiot actually sticks to any kind of diet on Thanksgiving?  I was young and stupid and have learned better.

I have also learned not to wear jeans on Thanksgiving as I did in my younger years when vanity trumped utility. Stretchy pants or maxi dresses – done and done.

So here they are, Mom’s Sweet Potatoes.

Also, she does her recipes by taste so trying to get measurements out of this woman was difficult. Make sure you’re tasting as you go so it has the buttery-consistency and exact amount of spice you desire.

What you’ll need:

6-8 large sweet potatoes (use half red and half white)

2 cubes of butter

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup orange juice

Nutmeg

Cinnamon

Pecans

Directions:

  • Rub the sweet potatoes with butter and bake in a 400-degree oven for 1 hour.
  • Carefully peel the sweet potatoes while still hot and place in a KitchenAid mixer.
  • Add a dash of nutmeg and a dash of cinnamon
  • Add 1/2 a cube of butter and the orange juice, whip until smooth
  • Transfer to a 9X13 baking dish

So usually I’d make the above dish the night before the meal to save time. Cover with plastic and refrigerate. The day of Thanksgiving let the casserole come to room temp and finish it off.

For the topping:

  • Chop 1 cube of butter and add a 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  • Cut the butter and add up to 1/8 of flour until the butter starts to form a crumbly topping
  • Sprinkle brown sugar topping and pecans over the sweet potatoes.
  • Put in a 350-degree oven for about 30 minutes.
One thought on “Mom’s sweet potatoes

  1. Wishing you utility over vanity this Thanksgiving…. and DEFINITELY eat your body weight in butter and carbs!! (and save me a little of these delicious sweet potatoes, please!!) Xxxo 🙂

Leave a Reply

