Got a headache? Hit the gym

The last thing I wanted to do when I woke up Monday morning was go on a run.

That sounded utterly disgusting.

Mostly because I had an insane, throbbing headache when I woke up this morning but also partly because of the gluttony that ensued this holiday weekend, which has made me extra lethargic and hating anything with buttons and zippers.

But really, it was the headache that was stopping me.

So I decided to give it 10.

I would try to run for 10 minutes and if by the end of that 10 minutes I wanted to die, I would stop.

Funny enough, my headache went away.  And this was a headache that wasn’t even phased by Advil.

So I started looking up why this happens.

Here’s what I found …

We all know that exercise sends bursts of happy-inducing endorphins coursing through our body. Apparently those endorphins also act as natural pain killers. This may be one reason a headache seems to subside with physical activity.

Also, often time headaches are brought on because your blood vessels have restricted for whatever reason (and there are many). Exercising opens up these vessels and increases blood flow, thereby reducing the pressure and, hopefully, the headache.

Interesting.

So, even if you don’t feel like hitting the gym, give it 10 minutes.

Your body will tell you whether you really need to stop and if it is screaming at you, listen to it!

 

Leave a Reply

