Andes brownies

AndesSo, my second job ever was at Olive Garden.

I started as a hostess and eventually became a server.

While most people rave on and on about the bread sticks (which I actually made one time when the bread lady had an emergency and yes, mine were crappy) that was not my favorite part of the menu.

My favorite part was what came after: the Andes mints.

Totally obsessed!

I freaking LOVE Andes mints.

I loved them so much I used to take handfuls, I mean honking huge handfuls, and fill my apron up just so I could pop one in my mouth during a busy shift.

I loved them so much that eventually the OG (this does not stand for original gangster) managers made the Andes mints box disappear behind the bar.

Servers could no longer have free access to the Andes mints.

They would now be rationed.

It was so harsh!

One per customer, none for the servers.

That was a dark and depressing day in my serving career.

Yes, it was my fault the mints were no longer a free-for-all in the server station.

No, I don’t think I was completely alone in causing the Andes mints stock to deplete so rapidly.

Anyway, I decided I wanted to make brownies out of them because I love them so much and because mint and chocolate is SO yum!

This is a recipe adapted from several places so I believe I changed enough things to call it my own. 🙂

They are not super strong in mint flavor since Andes mints are covered in chocolate and they taste reeeeeally good cold.

Andes mints brownies

1 package Andes mints

2 cup butter

4 cups sugar

6 eggs

6 teaspoons vanilla

1 1/3 cup cocoa powder

2 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

  • Line a baking pan with parchment paper and butter the paper.
  • Pour half the batter into the bottom.
  • Lay the Andes mints on top of the batter. I reserved about 8 mints to chop and sprinkle on top.
  • Cover the mints with the rest of the batter.
  • Pop them into a 350 degree oven and bake for 45 minutes. I like brownies slightly underdone but if you don’t, check the consistency with a fork and bake until the fork comes out clean.
2 thoughts on “Andes brownies

Leave a Reply

