Poor (wo)man’s lunch

When groceries are running low, finding a meal can be a challenge.

It’s easy to give up and hit a takeout restaurant but I challenge you to resist that urge!

They actually make an iPhone app that will take note of all the ingredients and come up with a great meal idea. I’m just not that fancy.

I’m more keen on the philosophy of grabbing what’s leftover in the fridge, throwing it together and hoping that it’s edible. FotoFlexer_Tostada

Well luckily with fresh veggies, you really can’t go wrong.

You can mix and match them pretty much any way you want and it will taste good. Added bonus: you use up all your produce and won’t be wasting food! (Which your wallet also is stoked on).

On a recent work day, I was working at home and it seemed there was “nothing for lunch”.

I just grabbed every scrap of vegetable left in my fridge, threw it in a pan with some coconut oil and sauteed it until slightly tender.  (I used mushroom, onion, cauliflower, carrots, broccoli and tomatoes). I didn’t have a ton of each vegetable but when combined, it was definitely enough for a full meal.

I grabbed a small corn tortilla and threw that in the pan in the leftover coconut oil (if you’re not cooking with this, you should give it a try. Bomb!)

I added half an avocado, a good dollop of salsa and because I didn’t have any lettuce, I topped with broccoli sprouts.

Bam! Lunch is served. A healthy take on a tostada that was cash-friendly, super fast to make and tasted great.

6 thoughts on “Poor (wo)man’s lunch

Leave a Reply

